I start to feel bad for Bobby for having the last of the three March birthdays - it’s hard to keep up the enthusiasm after doing the dinner out/cake/presents three times in a row. Since this was the one I didn’t plan, it was probably my least favorite - the H selected a Korean BBQ place (or rather, his Chat GPT did) and it wasn’t very good; mostly empty, tiny salad bar, and nothing except chewy, unpleasant meat (the kids were not into it). All this for $200. I mostly ate white rice, wilted lettuce, and an egg soufflĂ© thing I had in Korea (at least I got some protein). Bobby selected a cheesecake for his birthday and I got him an Aphex Twin shirt (in addition to the mountain bike). And that was that.
What is Bobby like, at fourteen? Introverted, rarely animated unless he’s on his VR playing with other kids. There are days I barely get a thumbs up from him. Sometimes he can be cranky, at which point I just leave him be. I don’t know the science behind it, but I’m pretty sure his true personality is hiding under the young teenager-ness that was all of us at one point and someday he’ll “come back to me”, as it were. He’s just been temporarily hijacked, and my job is just to be understanding and ride it out.
It’s hard to imagine Theo, who’s so chatty and extroverted, becoming like this; he may never. I think puberty manifests in a variety of ways and probably bounces off existing characteristics. Bobby was always on the shy side; Theo never was. I’ve always been romantic and emotional; puberty launched those tendencies into the stratosphere for me.
The H gets frustrated that Bobby doesn’t “open up” and treats it like a problem to be solved - I feel like this is just who Bobby is and he has a right to privacy. My mother also bemoaned my shyness - mostly because it completely ruined my young child acting career - and it drove me crazy how much she wouldn’t just let me be. So I’m triggered by this dynamic between them. Personally I think it’s ridiculous to expect your teenager to come to you with all their problems and act as though you’re their best friend. They should know they CAN come to you and that you’re a safe space, but beyond that, you need to back off and just let them be. Bobby’s not depressed, has friends, and does well in school. I don’t see a problem here.
Today was the final day of school until April 6th, and boy am I excited to not have to drag my ass out of bed for a while. Today the boys’ rec center camp announced it’s opening the day school resumes. I’m going to ask the H to take them to school that morning so I can go line up; last year I was there shortly after 8 and was almost the last to get a spot. It seems these camps get more and more popular every year. At twelve, this is Theo’s last chance to be an actual camper. Oddly enough, of the many options I gave them for the summer, the only thing they wanted to do was this camp. They were so meh about their sleepaway camp that I decided despite having put down deposits I’m going to cancel. I feel like that camp served its purpose, and there’s no need to shell out that amount of money for something neither of them really care about. They didn’t care for the volunteer camp, either, so the heck with it. I don’t love the idea of these kids malingering all summer at this rec center camp, but as of now I don’t see any other options. I figure I won’t start them until after July 4. This is, of course, assuming I even get spots.
I was thinking since the kids will have three or so weeks at home, I should come up with a plan for screen time. It’s one thing to hang out on a screen for a few hours when we’re all doing that just killing time until we have something to do, but day after day of that just won’t fly. They HAVE to do something else. So I think we need to have a family meeting to come up with a plan - how much time per day is acceptable, other things they can do, and what times. The idea of having to police them - or entertain them - all day during the summer when I’m at my busiest doesn’t thrill me, but I see the writing on the wall as far as our summer camp days being behind us, so it’s better to start setting a standard now. Pretty soon - maybe even next summer - there won’t really be any place for Bobby to go, unless I find some sort of summer-long CIT situation for him, or summer job, or something like that. I keep an eye out and always ask my local mom groups, but rarely get any helpful information. It definitely explains why my teenaged summers consisted of just sitting at home watching tv twelve hours a day until it was time to go back to school. Or wandering the streets with other poor kids who’s parents couldn’t afford to whisk them off to Europe or the Hamptons all summer. There just aren’t great options for younger teenaged boys, especially ones who aren’t into sports.
I got the news that it’s going to cost between $30,000 and $50,000 to repair my collapsing garage - something I’ve been delaying for 25 years but now has reached a breaking point (literally). So every penny I can save, helps (ie not spending on sleepaway camp). How am I going to pay for this? I don’t know, really - my tax refund will cover some of it, but of course I was expecting to need that money for basic expenses, not some huge expensive project like this. I might have to use up my business line of credit. Welp. It was fun being debt-free for a while.